7 Months Strong

It’s been 10 months since my life in Africa began and 7 of those months I have lived in South Sudan.  Sure I eat beans on a daily basis, it’s hot, dusty, dry, and I am never clean no matter how much I scrub, but my life here is something I am thankful for everyday.  Being in Africa is a magical experience that is difficult to describe, it is more caught than taught.  Those who have been here will understand what I am talking about.  This continent has it’s way of charming you into the simple life.  Who need’s running water anyways?  No, it’s not that I don’t miss hot showers (and chocolate); it’s that I don’t miss all of the noise and distraction of Western life.  Of course the children are noisy and they keep me busy but there are so many moments that lack entertainment.  The media buzz isn’t much more than a radio announcer’s voice wafting through the air.  There are no magazines or billboards vying for my attention.  It is in these moments  that there is time and space for Divine entertainment.  It is so easy to dwell in the soul-state of peace and joy, the contemplative life of the Catholic mystics that I have always aspired too.  There just isn’t soul clutter here.  I don’t have to choose to not go out, not shop, or not watch a movie in order to spend time in prayer.  My options are limited and I’m loving it!  Sure, I will enjoy my break in America around June.  America is the most comfortable place to live on the earth with it’s indoor temperature and water controls, smoothly paved roads, Lazy Boy’s, and fast food.   I’ll enjoy it for a few weeks but I know I’ll be looking forward to returning to my dirt paths and concrete perch in our Prayer Hut.

We all long for physical comfort but don’t allow it to lure you away from the higher comfort that God offers to your soul.  No down comforter or triple chocolate ice cream can buy you peace of mind.  I encourage you to try some time out of your comfort zone.  Sit in the woods, fast the “King’s food” like Daniel in the Bible did; take a pause on entertainment, even media.  I promise that God has been waiting to entertain you with His delights.  Psalm 94:19  In the multitude of my anxieties within me, your comforts delight my soul.

The kids are doing great.  They just returned to school.  Tutoring is coming along, Gloria recently read her first book.  She was so excited that she was banging her hand on the desk with every word that she read.  I tried moving her away from the desk but then she would jump up and bang her arms.  I explained that reading is dangerous.

You would think my first name is “Bingo!” because the kids yell for me to play it with them as I walk their way.  I’m using this simple game to teach them all of the basic phonic sounds and I’ve also started Math Bingo.

We are having a bit of a challenge getting them into a bathing and bedtime routine now that school has started back.  Mothers, just imagine trying to get 120 kids into a routine!

Our seniors were accepted into one of the best schools in the country.  Five of them will be boarding there and the rest are willing to walk two hours home everyday just for the chance of a better education.

Prayer Points:

  • That we will have better transportation to/from highschool such as a bus
  • That we will have the funds to improve our elementary school and reduce our classroom size.
  • That our entire team will learn the balance between work and rest so that we can stay strong.
  • For a prayer movement here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shirley Gillespie on February 15, 2016 at 6:24 pm

    Hey Crystal, it is so good reading your blog and getting the details about your daily life. I love the pics of you with the children. They are blessed to have you and vice versa. I look forward to seeing you when you come back on your break. I know when you strip away all the comfort things of life and embrace the simple things, every thing becomes clearer. I would think that the experience is almost like a “life fast” getting closer to the heart of God by removing distractions. Love to you and prayers for you and the children.

    Reply

  2. Posted by My Infocarolyn king on February 15, 2016 at 8:11 pm

    Loved your blog. Cried moma tears.

    Reply

Leave a comment