My First Three Months, Christmas and Beyond!

My first three months here at Iris Children’s Village in Yei, South Sudan have flown by!  Somewhere between ABC Bingo games and late night youth worship sessions I have met with the Lord in this place.  He is reflected in the smiling faces and passionate hearts that I get to be surrounded by everyday.

I recently returned from my break time in Nairobi and landed into what I call the “Christmas Crazies”.  Our children are crafting and baking like crazy in preparation for the big day.  It is also all about the hair.  Yes, hair!  During schooltime our children keep shortly shaved heads so that no one runs late for school.  As soon as their exams are done it’s time to weave and glitter every girl’s head.  Even the younger ones have black yarn weaved in.

image

Each house will perform a drama on Christmas Eve then on Christmas Day we slaughter the goats! (well, er, someone does)  Thanks to our sponsors (including you!) we will be able to bless our children with giftbag goodies and a set of new clothes.

As to the beyond…I believe 2016 will be our children’s best year yet!  With a new library built we have adequate space for studying, tutoring and small group classes.  It also provides space for worship and we have a new local staff memeber who will begin teaching our children music!

Thank you again for your sponsorship.  If you are an annual donor you can contact me directly for giving instructions at hey2imagine@yahoo.com

 

Leave a comment