It’s Official!

It’s official I am on staff with Iris South Sudan!  I’ve dreamt of this moment for so many years; it is surreal to finally be here.  The team has let me know that I am good fit for them and I can say that this is truly a place of belonging for me.

Our days are busy and full.  Keeping an eye on 120 children is no small task!  I’m continuing to train the other staff in tutoring/teaching.  When we aren’t working on our abc’s we’re busy playing Old Maid (remember that game?) and crocheting.  Yes, crocheting is all the rage around here.

I might try to explain a typical day but there really isn’t one.  Today is our family picture day and then a couple of the older girls are giving me a cooking lesson.  After that I am on “duty” to make sure every child is in after dark and not running around the compound.

I don’t “get out” much but I did go for a run this morning.  Our country is on a fuel shortage meaning there is none available (political nonsense I suppose because we produce oil)  We use our reserves to get to town and our trips are infrequent.  Yes, nothing about life here is typical…

A few photos for you….

image image image

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rachael on November 8, 2015 at 6:11 pm

    You are in my prayers and thoughts!

    Reply

  2. Posted by jackie dierks on November 9, 2015 at 1:49 pm

    Many blessings to you! What a wonderful gift you are to the people who know and work with you. Be safe and continued good health and thanks for doing God’s work in a part of the world most would not imagine doing!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ann Thompson on November 9, 2015 at 6:25 pm

    Hi Crystal! Wow! Congrats! I’m sooo happy for you and wish I could be there alongside you ministering to those precious children! I think you’ll remember me from our time w/ Will and Pam and MTMM, many moons ago. Are you still in touch w/ Will and Pam? Anyway, one reason that I am writing is my best friend is a missionary in Pakistan and her grown son, now married is going to be a missionary pilot serving S Sudan! So, while you paths may not cross, thought it’d be a good connection for you to have. They’ll be based in Kenya, but near the S Sudan border. Their names are Elisha and Crystal Stock. elisha.stock@sim.org. They are with SIM (Servants in Mission) and also partner w/ AIM. stocks.with.sim.org. I hosted a open hose for them recently as they are still in the fund raising phase of getting over there. I’m so glad we can still keep in touch. I wish I could support you financially, but can’t right now. BUT, I can pray! 🙂 so I will be praying for you Crystal! Be safe and enjoy this amazing time God is giving you. One of my favorite quotes from Mother Teresa, “It’s a privilege to serve the poor” but I know it can also be a lot of hard work! God Bless you! Love, Annie Thompson
    lorenandann@gmail.com

    Reply

    • Ann, of course I remember you! I receive Will and Pam’s newsletters. We met up once in Kansas City but it was several years ago. Thank you for your friends contact information, it always helps to make connections!

      Reply

  4. Posted by tina on November 11, 2015 at 3:28 am

    Love the pictures. I am so happy for you to be walking out your destiny touching lives in such a powerful way. God is good. And your hair looks fabulous. Wish I could come for a visit. Thanks for the updates.

    Reply

    • Thanks Tina! We had a hairdresser who was in my Harvest School so she helped me out. Please send out the word to be praying for Rolland Baker. He has that bad type of malaria again and has been placed on a six months sabbatical. It does not sound like it has escalated to a life or death situation yet.

      Reply

Leave a comment